2017 Environmental Scorecard for the Oregon Legislature

2017's Notable Leaders

Environmental Champion of the Year

Governor Kate Brown (D)

This year, OLCV thanks Governor Kate Brown for our biggest achievement — saving the Elliott State Forest from private sale. At a time when the federal government is aiming to shrink national monuments and open public lands to drilling, Oregon needs a leader for the environment. Thanks to Governor Brown, we have that leader and we have the opportunity to enjoy the Elliott State Forest for generations to come. Her work on the Elliott is just one of many reasons that we are choosing Governor Brown as this year’s Environmental Champion. She also created Cleaner Air Oregon, a first of its kind state program to protect our air quality for public health. Too many Oregonians, especially in urban areas, unwittingly breathe toxic, carcinogenic compounds every day — facing dire health impacts as a result. The legislature did not provide adequate funding for Cleaner Air Oregon, but we look forward to working with the governor to address this and make the program a success. Governor Brown is also working to make Oregon a global leader in the fight against climate change. We have her support for the Clean Energy Jobs bill, which will cap and price greenhouse gas emissions and invest the proceeds in our communities most affected by climate change. Further, with her counterparts from California and Washington, Governor Brown is making it clear that no matter what the White House does, the United States can still meet the goals of the Paris Climate Agreement.

And finally, we deeply appreciate Governor Brown’s leadership on a forward-looking, climate-friendly transportation package, and for joining us to prevent Big Oil and anti-environment legislators from rolling back Oregon’s Clean Fuels Program.

Innovator of the Year

Rep. Paul Holvey (D-Eugene)

Rep. Holvey championed HB 2020, legislation to add climate work to the Oregon Department of Energy, to reform the agency, and to prepare state agencies across the board to work on climate change. Although it didn’t pass, we applaud his initiative and this forward-thinking approach to lawmaking.

A+ Legislators

Some legislators went above and beyond a 100% score — they had a true 100% voting record and also added their public support for Clean Energy Jobs, SB 1070, which we will be advocating for in the 2018 session. All scores are capped at 100% but these leaders earned an A+!

Representatives: Phil Barnhart (D-Eugene), Mitch Greenlick (D-Portland), Alissa Keny-Guyer (D-Portland), Pam Marsh (D-Ashland), Tawna Sanchez (D-Portland).

Senators: Sara Gelser (D-Corvallis), Floyd Prozanski (D-Eugene).

Perseverance Award

Rep. Ken Helm (D-Beaverton) & Sen. Michael Dembrow (D-Portland)

Writing comprehensive climate policy is challenging and complicated. But these two were up to the task, spending months getting the Clean Energy Jobs bill right. We are excited to work with them to pass this legislation in 2018. We thank them for their tireless work preparing Oregon to join the world stage in the fight against climate change.

Rep. Helm also advanced a moratorium on fracking and creative ways to fund the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife. And Sen. Dembrow succeeded in passing suction dredge mining restrictions after years of work. He also championed strong diesel legislation and resisted erosions to our state land use system.

Rep. Ken Helm
Sen. Michael Dembrow

Rising Stars

Rep. Pam Marsh (D-Ashland) & Rep. Karin Power (D-Milwaukie)

Both first-term legislators, Reps. Marsh and Power brought much needed dynamism and strong pro-environment voices to the House Democratic Caucus. There are times when a scorecard can’t tell you everything about a member. Their work behind the scenes convinced us that these two rising stars will be a force to be reckoned with in future sessions. Additionally, Rep. Marsh carried our suction dredge bill on the House Floor, and Rep. Power brought her expertise on water policy to the legislature. Both worked hard on energy policy, including saving the solar tax credit. And they encouraged their colleagues to support keeping the Elliott State Forest public.

Rep. Pam Marsh
Rep. Karin Power


About OLCV

The Oregon League of Conservation Voters is a non-partisan organization with a simple mission: to pass laws that protect Oregon's environmental legacy, elect pro-environment candidates to office, and hold all of our elected officials accountable.

For more information about OLCV, visit our website at olcv.org.

About the Scorecard

For more than 40 years, OLCV has protected Oregon's natural legacy. An essential part of our work is holding our elected officials accountable. The OLCV Environmental Scorecard is not only one of our most important accountability tools, but also a tradition. The first scorecard was published in 1973.

By sharing how each member of the Legislature voted on the most critical conservation bills, we help Oregonians understand whether legislators listened to their constituents, or if they listened to special interest groups instead. It also serves as a summary of environmental bills and includes special recognition of the legislative champions.